Skip to main content

About this performance

J.S Bach Orchestral Suite No.3
Aulis Sallinen Barabbas Variations
J.S Bach Concerto in A minor
Agri / Carli Desde Adentro
Grieg Holberg Suite

Sophie Rowell
James Crabb accordion

The concert
Bach the modernist.

The greatest and most prolific of composers, J.S Bach still has plenty to teach us about the joys of new music.

MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell leads the Orchestra through this concert which sees the genius of Bach refashioned, with classical accordionist James Crabb performing as soloist.

The Scottish accordion virtuoso has been praised the world-over for his versatile musicianship and has appeared with the London Philharmonic, BBC Scottish, MSO and countless contemporary world-class ensembles.

Contemporary Finnish composer Aulis Sallinen’s <em>Barrabas Variations</em> also features accordion as the solo instrument, a melancholy work which builds from a frenetic atmosphere, featuring trills and repeated rhythms to a haunting, wistful conclusion.

Sophie Rowell leads the MSO in Bach’s Orchestral Suite No.3 and Concerto in A minor, highlighting the composer’s mastery of harmony and counterpoint.

Contrasting a mournful violin line with the energy of the accordion, Antonio Agri’s Desde Adentro (meaning “from within”) will profile Crabb’s passion and acclaimed authority of his instrument, before Rowell takes over with an inspired performance of Grieg’s Holberg Suite.

Running time
1 hour & 46 minutes, including a 20-minute interval.

Stay tuned. Sign up.