Skip to main content


Individual tickets available from 28 October






Available now as part of a Saturday Matinee subscription


Saturday 10 September 2022

2:00pm at Hamer Hall

If purchasing a 2022 subscription series, you can add this concert to your subscription and save 10%.

Add tickets to a subscription


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Fabian Russell conductor
Augustin Hadelich violin


Harry Sdraulig Torrent
Bartók Violin Concerto No.2
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

About this performance

Fabian Russell leads the MSO in a collection of virtuosic works inspired by nature and folk music from around the world.

  • Australian composer Harry Sdraulig’s evocatively titled works are often inspired by the beauty and power of nature. Here, Torrent comes to life – from frenzied furiosity to thick stagnancy and back again – under the baton of much-loved Australian conductor Fabian Russell.
  • Bartók’s Second Violin Concerto takes its inspiration from folk music of the composer’s native Hungary and surrounds. Instead of Transylvanian fiddlers, however, this performance features the virtuosity of Grammy-award-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich, hot on the heels of his recent solo NPR Tiny Desk Concert.
  • Based on folk dances and ecclesiastical chants, but with modern hints such as the inclusion of saxophone, Symphonic Dances was the last work Rachmaninov ever composed. Virtuosic playing, heaving energy, and gentle, lingering melodies make this unforgettable work an enduring favourite of audiences the world over.

Duration: approx. 105 minutes including interval

COVIDSafe Information

The MSO and the venues in which we perform will operate under government health and safety guidelines in place at the time of the event. Information about protocols in place will be included in the pre-concert email sent to attendees a few days prior to the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.